BOARD MEETING SUMMARY

Meeting date: Thursday, 2 April 2020

Location: Board Room, Mackay Base Hospital

Attendees: Tim Mulherin (chair); Darryl Camilleri; David Aprile; Helen Archibald; Richard Murray;

Suzanne Brown; Leeanne Heaton; Adrienne Barnett; Elissa Hatherly

Apology: Nil

Invitees: Jo Whitehead (Chief Executive); Sarah Nolan (Board Secretary)

In light of the impact of COVID-19, the Mackay Hospital and Health Board (Mackay HHB) agreed to cancel the Committee meetings in April, May and June 2020, and focus on essential matters at the monthly Mackay HHB meetings.

This was also the first virtual meeting of the Mackay HHB with all Board Members utilising videoconferencing or teleconferencing facilities.

The Mackay HHB noted the detailed update from the Chief Executive on Mackay Hospital and Health Service's (Mackay HHS) COVID-19 Pandemic Planning, including the:

- Mackay HHS's current status;
- State-wide and Mackay HHS's pandemic plan frameworks;
- Whole of System Planning, including engagement with Regional Councils, private health partners, Northern Queensland Primary Health Network, aged care providers, etc.;
- Risks and Challenges categorised into external factors, workforce, infrastructure, supplies and equipment, and process; and
- Update from each Incident Management Team cell (Planning, Operations, Finance/Logistics, Media/Communications, Specialist Liaison Officers).

The Mackay HHB approved the Mackay HHB Board Calendar for 2020-2021.

The Mackay HHB discussed the Finance Committee Report and the Work Health and Safety Monthly Report as well as receiving updates from the Board Chair and Chief Executive.

We acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the land and waters of all areas within the Mackay Hospital and Health Service geographical boundary.

We pay respect to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders past, present and those yet to come on whose land we provide health services as we make tracks towards closing the gap.



The Honourable Tim Mulherin



Ms Suzanne Brown



Mr Darryl Camilleri



Ms Leeanne Heaton



Mr David Aprile



Dr Elissa Hatherly



Professor Richard Murray





Ms Adrienne Barnett