BOARD MEETING SUMMARY

Meeting date: Thursday, 7 February 2019

Location: Board Room, Mackay Base Hospital

Attendees: Tim Mulherin (Board Chair); Darryl Camilleri; David Aprile; Richard Murray; John Nugent;

Suzanne Brown; Karla Steen; Leeanne Heaton

Apology: Helen Archibald

Invitees: Jo Whitehead (Chief Executive); Sarah Nolan (Board Secretary)

The Mackay Hospital and Health Board (Mackay HHB) thanked Christine Sheehan, Managing Director (Advisory) and Health Sector Lead at Donald Cant Watts Corks, and Harm Hollander, Architect, for taking the time to present on Mackay Hospital and Health Service's master planning process.

The Mackay HHB thanked Janet Geisler for taking the time to present on 2019 update review of Mackay Hospital and Health Service's Strategic Plan 2016-2020.

The Mackay HHB approved the:

- Appointment of Julie Rampton to the role of acting Health Service Chief Executive for the period 1 April 2019 to 12 April 2019 (inclusive), subject to approval by the Director-General;
- 2. Appointment of Marc Warner to the role of acting Health Service Chief Executive for the period 8 August 2019 to 4 September 2019 (inclusive), subject to approval by the Director-General;
- Engagement of an external consultant to work with the Mackay HHB to increase its capability to operate at a strategic level (commence after the 2019 Hospital and Health Board recruitment); and
- 4. Closing the Gap Health Plan for Mackay Hospital and Health Service and submission to the Department of Health.

The Mackay HHB also noted the verbal and written reports for the Audit and Risk Committee meeting held on 19 December 2018 and Finance Committee meeting held on 30 January 2019.

All Executive reports were noted and accepted by the Mackay HHB.

We acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the land and waters of all areas within the Mackay Hospital and Health Service geographical boundary.

We pay respect to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders past, present and those yet to come on whose land we provide health services as we make tracks towards closing the gap.



The Honourable Tim Mulherin



Mr John Nuaent



Mr Darryl Camilleri



Ms Suzanne Brown



Mr David Aprile



Ms Karla Steen



Professor Richard Murray



Ms Leeanne Heaton



Dr Helen Archibald