BOARD MEETING SUMMARY

Meeting date: Thursday, 2 August 2018

Location: Board Room, Mackay Base Hospital

Attendees: Tim Mulherin (Board Chair); Darryl Camilleri; David Aprile; Helen Archibald; Richard Murray; John Nugent; Suzanne Brown; Karla Steen; Leeanne Heaton

Apology: Nil

Invitees: Jo Whitehead (Chief Executive); Sarah Nolan (Board Secretary)

The Mackay Hospital and Health Board (Mackay HHB) thanked the Director Clinical Training for their presentation and acknowledged the hard work of the Medical Education Unit in relation to attracting doctors to Mackay, establishing training requirements to meet the health needs of the community, and retention of these well-trained doctors.

The Mackay HHB approved the Mackay Hospital and Health Service: 2018-2019 Window 1 Deed of Amendment. This deed can be found at https://publications.gld.gov.au/dataset/mackay-hhs-serviceagreements.

The Mackay HHB was advised that the Executive Director Finance, Procurement and Infrastructure has established a budget process that formalises a Budget Review Committee to provide ongoing critique and analysis of budget proposals and financial performance. This Committee will be comprised of four senior leaders/clinicians from across the organisation to provide a form of "peer review" of proposals before submission to the Executive Leadership Team.

The Mackay HHB noted the latest update on the Mackay Base Hospital Car Parking Strategy and has requested a detailed paper on the proposed final strategy.

The Mackay HHB also noted the verbal and written reports for the Finance Committee meeting held on 25 July 2018.

All Executive reports were noted and accepted by the Mackay HHB.

We acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the land and waters of all areas within the Mackay Hospital and Health Service geographical boundary.

We pay respect to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders past, present and those yet to come on whose land we provide health services as we make tracks towards closing the gap.



The Honourable Tim Mulherin



Ms Suzanne Brown





Professor Richard Murray



Dr Helen Archibald







Ms Leeanne Heaton